Chris Wilson sprints to Milby win at NYERRL #5

On a fast and flowing circuit, it was always likely that Moonglu’s second event in their debut organising season for the NYERRL League was going to result in a bunch kick, and so it proved. Chris Wilson (Valley Striders) powered his way to another mass sprint victory (his second of the year) and added to his League tally, securing his promotion to 2nd Cat in the process. Joshua Ferguson (Newcastle Cheviot CC) and Lewis Jackson (Wold Top) rounded up the podium.

Though it came down to the inevitable bunch sprint, many riders tried to get away and at times it looked possible that the likely sprint would be challenged. Hayden Allen (Albarosa) tried twice to get away, and though his gap grew to circa 20 seconds, he never looked likely to fend off a strong field intent on keeping him in sight. Daniel McDermott (FTR) was also off the front for a few minutes in the middle of the race, but suffered similar frustrations. Jimmy Parvin, buoyed after his win in the last round, was always active near the front, together with Tom Whalley (Buxton CC), and their efforts finally brought back the biggest gap of the evening, shutting down one of the two riders wearing classic Peugeot Cycling kit in the last half lap.

In the sprint, it was Wilson who dominated and looked untouchable. Another solid result from Parvin (5th) increased his lead in the individual standings, and despite the absence of his Team mate, seasoned veteran Matthew Mannakee, his points haul also extended Prologue’s lead in the Team standings. Full results as follows:

  1. Chris Wilson (Valley Striders CC)
  2. Joshua Ferguson (Newcastle Cheviot CC)
  3. Lewis Jackson (Wold Top Actif RT)
  4. Toby Jarvis
  5. Jimmy Parvin (Prologue Racing Team)
  6. Jonathan Apaloo (VC York)
  7. Chris Kirby (Cappuccino Cycling Club)
  8. Daniel McDermott (FTR Milltag)
  9. Joseph Wilkinson (FTR Milltag)
  10. Daryl Maffey (Yh Training Scarborough RC)

Current Team Standings as follows:

1. Prologue RT – 40
2. FTR Milltag – 39
3. Valley Striders – 28
4. VC York – 22
5. All TerrainCycles Ride in Peace – 16
6. South Shields Velo Cycling Club – 15
7. Adept Precision RT/NE Healthcare – 12
8. Newcastle Cheviot – 12
9. Ilkley Cycling Club – 12
10. Albarosa Cycling Club – 11

Current Individual Standings as follows:

1. Jimmy Parvin – 33
2. Chris Wilson – 28
3. Jonathan Apaloo – 22
4. Jamie Tweddell – 18
5. Manuel Agudo – 15

Next up – a hill top finish at the summit of Brandsby Bank, see you there!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s